K2 – The Blog

Field Trip for K2 Creative

Posted in Uncategorized by K2Creative on July 21, 2010

Okay so it was only to Brooklyn, but I have to say in the high temps that we’ve been experiencing in NYC it felt like we were on a 3 hour tour.
Ever since I heard that the Brooklyn Museum was showing Andy Warhol’s last decade of work, I have to admit I was so intrigued. I have a few copies of his work around my apt and wasn’t very familiar with his later works and had little idea of what to expect. I learned not only was he one of the most influential artists he was incredibly smart in business – showcasing his talent down many avenues of art.

In my opinion the Brooklyn Museum did not disappoint, I felt it was the perfect space to showcase more than 50 works revealing Warhol’s true form for artistry before his passing. I was especially drawn to his silk screens and the simplicity of his view of the art, the world previous to him and also the future outlook of where he found art to be headed. The exhibit had Warhol’s commissioned portraits, print series, television productions and fashion projects while taking you on his path as he revisits painting.
During the last decade Warhol produced many experimentation series on large scale verus the previous 40 years of his career. I had always heard about the piece of his take on Leonardo de Vinici’s The Last Supper, it was overwhelming to see in person.

The exhibit was a great collection and I would encourage any one to see it in person this summer. It will be showing through September 12, 2010 at the Robert E. Blum Gallery, 1st Floor and the Morris A and Meyer Schapiro Wing, 5th Floor. Andy Warhol: The Last Decade is organized by the Milwaukee Art Museum. The exhibition was curated by Joseph D. Ketner II, Henry and Lois Foster Chair of Contemporary Art, Emerson College, Boston.

Leave a Reply

