K2 – The Blog

The NY TIMES Article: Owning a small business can really suck

Posted in Our Humble Opinions by K2Creative on August 18, 2011

After my ranting post over a year ago, remarking on a NY Times article that made my entire industry go bananas, I’m happy to write this.  I love me some NY Times, and read it almost daily.  I must confess, though – I found the article “Maybe It’s Time For Plan C”, highlighting the consequences and pitfalls of starting your own small business, through Twitter (follow us here, by the way!).  In an even greater admission, I was reading the tweets of the Cake Girls, bakers and decorators of Food Network Challenge fame.  Yes, I’m obsessed.

Why was I on their page, you ask?  Well, Katie and I are heading to the Midwest next week to do a slew of bookshows.  And we need sweet treats for our meetings.  Which led me to the Cake Girls, thereby leading me to their tweets.  Let’s face it – when it comes to cake, it’s hard for me to focus on work for long.  Or anything, for that matter.

But I digress.  Read the article by clicking here.  The basis – OWNING A SMALL BUSINESS IS HARD.   I recall Katie and I promising ourselves free time, hour lunches and work days ending at 6:00 PM.  As I type this, it’s almost 7:00.  And when I’m finished, I’ll go on to do 10 more things that need to get done today, from motivational phone calls with artists, to estimates and accounting, and even a call to Los Angeles which is being pushed to 8:00 PM EST.  It never ends.  There will never be enough time in a day to get everything done.

•••BUT•••

As the article closes, it brings up one last point.  And this is a biggie:  BEING YOUR OWN BOSS IS 100% WORTH IT.  Hands down, end of story.  It’s satisfying beyond belief.  And somehow, even with more to do and less time to do it, in conjunction with the impending doom of  yet another Friday without a paycheck,  I wouldn’t give it up.

So as I get through another hell-uv-a day and prepare to embark on a two week gamble in the middle of the country, I’m reminded of how lucky I really am.  Being one’s own boss is not without it’s pitfalls.  And I question my choice sometimes.  The beauty of it all?  At the end of the day,  I’ve got no one to answer to but me.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kelly said, on August 18, 2011 at 8:25 PM

    This is always a timely and relevant topic. Starting your own business is a balls to the wall, no guts no glory process. In the face of mounting bills and no clients in sight, are you dedicated enough to find those ways out? I’ve dabbled in selling products (bracelets in the fifth grade), opening a cafe in college (success!) and now an online peer-to-peer rental site (rentalic.com). Online products are more challenging than many would think! But as you say, at the end of the day, being able to be your own boss, drive the decision making process and birthing something you fully believe in and are proud to attach your name to is incredibly rewarding.


Leave a Reply

