K2 – The Blog

The Case of the Missing Semicolon

Posted in Our Humble Opinions, Uncategorized, What's happening with the artists by K2Creative on October 9, 2013

There has got to be an easier way.

We’ve been working on our new website for what seems like years now.  Nothing went right from the beginning,  and we couldn’t grasp the concept of how the back-end system would work.  I know, I know – we have several options for how to go about dealing with the website and all the changes that come along with it.  We could hire someone to do our updates, to change each site section, add the rotating homepage imagery.

We, though, chose the hard way…the way that requires a lot of after hours work learning learning the ins and outs of the site ourselves.  Why, you ask?  Partially so we could get our updates done quickly, never having to wait on someone else to put up new work.  And partially because we insist we can do everything ourselves and don’t need any help.

Is this a mistake?  Maybe.  Probably.  And with that, I bring you the case of the missing semicolon.
Last night, I put up a fashion section for Bruce Soyez Bernard (yes, Bruce is now shooting fashion along with his beauty work and it’s gorgeous).  I patted myself on the back, and, with an aire of smugness, thought “Bam!  This isn’t so hard”.  And then I checked the  website, expecting to see a waify red-head wearing Dolce and Gabana staring at me.  Alas, nothing.  White screen.  And not just the fashion section – it appeared ALL of Bruce’s work was gone.

And so began 4 hours of my life I’ll never get back.  And the problem, discovered way past my bedtime?  A semicolon.  One friggin semicolon had been left out of the coding I added for the new section.

Don’t get me wrong…I was ecstatic (and humbled) when it finally worked.  But seriously – there has to be a better way to get imagery on a website.  I humbly welcome any ideas.

And in the meantime, check out some of Bruce’s new fashion work below.  Our new website will be out soon.  🙂

Image

Leave a Reply

