K2 – The Blog

Daniel Rosenthal for Adon Magazine

Posted in Uncategorized by K2Creative on September 10, 2015

We’re psyched to share the latest story from Daniel Rosenthal published in Adon Magazine. One of my favorite shoots from this past summer. A production where the crew, styling, talent and location just all came together and fit perfectly into place to create a dark, deep and funky illustrated story for Adon.

Daniel’s thoughts….

What inspired this concept?

I shot a campaign last year, and Achraf Amiri did the illustrations for it. He is BRILLIANT, so I began to see my photography with the additional of animated creatures. My first mood board was primarily made up of images from the book and movie, “where the wild thing are.” I’ve always loved the dark beauty of that story and I ache for Max. I wondering what could happen if Max grew up and didn’t go off his fictitious world. My story went darker and less innocent.

How did you get the model to act before the illustration was set?

I have to start by saying that Andy is one of the best models I’ve ever worked with. He has the looks of an Armani model (and IS) combined with the playful and exploratory nature of a 7 year old boy. He was PERFECT for this story and I can’t wait to work with him again. Before the shoot began, I explained the concept to him, and he loved it. Big, wild movement, crazy expressions at times, and a fearless connection to the imagined world around him.

What is your favorite shot of the story?

The “crowning” shot is my favorite. I love this moment in the story. The wardrobe, the light, the expression on Andy’s face, and Achraf’s... ocean women? Eel lady? Pink-tittied snake-fish?

What kind of challenges did you face when shooting this or putting the concept together?

The biggest challenge seemed to be finding the right model. I went through 4 models before I found Andy, and not until the day before the shoot. On set, by some miracle, it was one of the smoothest shoots I’ve been on. The whole team worked so well together and is so incredibly TALENTED. I can’t thank you guys enough for wanting to work with me.

ADON-1611 ADON-1612 ADON-1613 ADON-1614 ADON-1615

Leave a Reply

